IMLA Regional Vice-Presidents, State Chairs and Provincial Chairs

During the Annual Conference, IMLA’s voting members elect a Regional Vice-President for each of the fourteen designated regions of the U.S. and one for Canada. In addition, IMLA’s President appoints a State Chair for each of the fifty states and Provincial Chairs for each of the Canadian Provinces. Each Regional Vice-President, State Chair, and Provincial Chair serves for a one-year term, but may be re-elected or re-appointed to successive terms. Generally, the role of the Regional Vice-President, State Chair and Provincial Chair is to act in an advisory capacity to the Board on matters of policy, programs and membership. The most important functions involve:

  • Identification and referral of cases to the Legal Advocacy Committee through the Executive Director
  • Membership development and retention
  • Helping IMLA gain exposure within a state or region

IMLA is proud to present the Regional Vice-Presidents & State Chairs/Provincial Chairs for 2019-2020:

Regional Vice Presidents

1st Circuit
(ME, MA, NH, PR, RI)
Christopher J. Petrini
City Solicitor

Contact Information

Framingham, Massachusetts
Petrini & Associates, P.C.
372 Union Avenue
Farmingham, Massachusetts
Phone: (508) 665-4310
Fax: (508) 665-4313
cpetrini@petrinilaw.com

2nd Circuit
(CT,NY,VT)
Brig Smith
General Counsel

Contact Information

Middletown, Connecticut
245 deKoven Drive
Municipal Building, Room 204
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: (860) 344-3422
Fax: (860) 344-3499
brig.smith@middletownct.gov

3rd Circuit
(DE, NJ, PA, VI)
John C. Gillespie
Township Solicitor

Contact Information

Chesterfield, New Jersey
Parker McCay & Criscuolo
9000 Midatlantic Drive, Ste 300
Mt. Laurel, NJ 08054
Phone: (856) 985-4083
Fax: (856) 596-9631
jgillespie@parkermccay.com

4th Circuit
(MD, NC, SC, VA, WV)
Anthony Fox
City Attorney

Contact Information

Weddington, North Carolina
Three Wachovia Ctr
401 S. Tryon St, Ste 3000
Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone: (704) 372-9000
Fax: (704)334-4706
anthonyfox@parkerpoe.com

5th Circuit
(LA, MS, TX)
Paige Mims
City Attorney

Contact Information

Plano, Texas
P.O. Box 860358
Plano, TX 75086-0358
Phone: (972) 941-5235
Fax: (972) 424-0099
paigem@plano.gov

6th Circuit
(KY,MI,OH,TN)
Philip Hartmann
Law Director

Contact Information

Frost Brown Todd LLC
10 West Broad Street, Suite 2300
Columbus, OH 43215
phartmann@fbtlaw.com

7th Circuit
(IL, IN, WI)
Paul Stephanides
Village Attorney

Contact Information

Oak Park, Illinois
123 Madison Street
Oak Park, IL 60302
Phone: (708) 383-5660
Fax: (708) 383-5661
pstephanides@oak-park.us

8th Circuit (North)
(MN, ND, SD)
Howard D. Swanson
City Attorney

Contact Information

Grand Forks, North Dakota
P.O. Box 12909
1397 Library Circle, Suite 202
Grand Forks, ND 58208-2909
Phone: (701) 772-3407
Fax: (701) 772-3833
hswanson@swlawltd.com

8th Circuit (South)
(AR, IA, MO, NE)
Thomas M. Carpenter
City Attorney

Contact Information

Little Rock, Arkansas
310 City Hall
500 W. Markham
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: (501) 371-6875
Fax: (501) 371-4675
tcarpenter@littlerock.org

9th Circuit (North)
(AK, ID, MT, OR, WA)
Peter S. Holmes
City Attorney

Contact Information

Seattle, Washington
P.O. Box 94769
Seattle, WA 98124
Phone: (206) 684-8288
Fax: (206) 686-8284
peter.holmes@seattle.gov

9th Circuit (South)
(AZ, CA, HI, NV)
Terence Rex Boga
City Attorney

Contact Information

Westlake Village, California
355 South Grand Avenue, 40th Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone: (213) 626-8484
Fax: (213) 626-0078
tboga@rwglaw.com

10th Circuit (North)
(CO, UT, WY)
Tom Carr
City Attorney

Contact Information

Boulder, Colorado
PO Box 791
1777 Broadway
Boulder, CO 80306
Phone: (303) 441-3020
Fax: (303) 441-3859
carrt@bouldercolorado.gov

10th Circuit (South)
(KS, NM, OK)
Sharon L. Dickgrafe
Chief Deputy City Attorney

Contact Information

Wichita, Kansas
City Hall- 13th Floor
455 North Main Street
Wichita, KS 67202
Phone: (316) 268-4681
Sdickgrafe@wichita.gov

11th Circuit
(AL, FL, GA)
James E. Elliott, Jr.
City Attorney

Contact Information

Warner Robins, Georgia
202 N. Davis Drive
PMB 718
Warner Robins, GA 31093
Phone: (478) 929-1120
Fax: (478) 918-2995
jelliott@wrga.gov

Canadian Regional Vice President
David Boghosian
Boghosian & Allen, LLP

Contact Information

65 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M5H 2M5
Canada
Phone: (416) 367-5558
Fax: (416) 368-1010
dgb@boglaw.ca

State Chairs

Alabama
Robert Spence, Esq.
Attorney

Contact Information

Rosen Harwood, LLP
2200 Jack Warner Parkway
Suite 200
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Phone: (205) 344-5000 x2415
Fax: (205) 758-8358
rspence@rosenharwood.com

Alaska
Nicholas Spiropoulos
Borough Attorney

Contact Information

Matanuska-Susitna Borough
350 E. Dahlia Avenue
Palmer, AK 99645
Phone: (907) 861-8677
Fax: (907) 861-8559
nspiropoulos@matsugov.us

Arizona
Kelly Schwab
City Attorney/Risk Manager

Contact Information

Chandler, Arizona
P.O. Box 4008, MS 602
Chandler, AZ 85244-4008
Phone: (480) 782-4642
Fax: (480) 782-4652
kelly.schwab@chandleraz.gov

Arkansas
Amy Beckman Fields
City Attorney

Contact Information

North Little Rock, Arkansas
300 Main Street
North Little Rock, AR 72114
Phone: (501) 975-3755
Fax: (501) 340-5341
afields@nlr.ar.gov

California (1)
Richard Doyle
City Attorney

Contact Information

San Jose, California
200 East Santa Clara St. 16th Floor
San Jose, CA 95113
Phone: (408) 535-1950
Fax: (408) 998-3131
richard.doyle@sanjoseca.gov

California (2)
Timothy Coates
Managing Partner

Contact Information

Greines, Martin, Stein & Richland LLP
5900 Wilshire Boulevard, 12th Floor
San Jose, CA 95113
Phone: (310) 859-7811
Fax: (310) 276-5261
tcoates@gmsr.com

Colorado
Carrie M. Daggett
City Attorney

Contact Information

Fort Collins, Colorado
300 Laporte Avenue
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Phone: (970) 416-2463
cdaggett@fcgov.com

Connecticut
Robin Edwards
Assistant Corporation Counsel & President of CAMA

Contact Information

Danbury, CT
155 Deer Hill Avenue
Danbury, CT 06810
Phone: (203) 797-4518
Fax: (203) 796-8043
r.edwards@danbury-ct.gov

Delaware
Michael P. Migliore
County Counsel to Council

Contact Information

800 N. French St., 8th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: (302) 395-8389
MPMigliore@NCCDE.org

Florida (1)
Laurie Cohen
Village Attorney

Contact Information

Wellington, Florida
12300 Forest Hill Boulevard
Wellington, FL 33414
Phone: (561) 753-2499
Fax: (561) 753-2596
lcohen@wellingtonfl.gov

Florida (2)
Andrew Mai
County Attorney

Contact Information

Osceola County, Florida
1 Courthouse Square, Ste 4700
Kissimmee, FL 34741
Phone: (407) 742-2200
Fax: (407) 742-2217
andrew.mai@osceola.org

Georgia
J. Anderson Davis
City Attorney

Contact Information

Rome, Georgia
P.O. Box 5007, 615 W. 1st Street
Rome, GA 30162
Phone: (706) 291-8853
Fax: (706) 234-3574
adavis@brinson-askew.com

Hawaii
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Idaho
Mia Bautista
City Attorney

Contact Information

Moscow, Idaho
P.O. Box 9203, 206 East 3rd Street
Moscow, ID 83843
Phone: (208) 883-7005
Fax: (208) 883-7018
MBautista@ci.moscow.id.us

Illinois
Brian Day
Corporation Counsel

Contact Information

Normal, Illinois
11 Uptown Circle- P.O. Box 589
Normal, IL 61761
bday@normal.org

Indiana
Denise Sejna
City Attorney

Contact Information

Whiting, IN
1443 119th Street
Whiting, IN 46394
Phone: (219) 659-7700
Fax: (219) 473-4452
sejna@whitingindiana.com

Iowa
Eric Goers
Assistant City Attorney

Contact Information

Iowa City, Iowa
410 E. Washington Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
Phone: (319) 356-5030
Fax: (319) 356-5008
eric-goers@iowa-city.org

Kansas
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Kentucky
M. Keith Horn
Managing Attorney

Contact Information

Lexington-Fayette, Kentucky
200 E. Main Street, 11th Floor
Lexington, KY 40507
Phone: (859) 258-3500
Fax: (859) 258-3538
mhorn@lexingtonky.gov

Louisiana
Karen White
Executive Counsel

Contact Information

Louisiana Municipal Association
700 N. 10th Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: (225) 344-5001
Fax: (225) 336-5277
kwhite@lma.org

Maine
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Maryland
Charles D. MacLeod
City Attorney

Contact Information

City of Cambridge, Maryland
MacLeod Law Group
120 Speer Road, Suite 1
Chestertown, MD 21620
Phone: (410) 810-1381
Fax: (410) 810-1383
cmacleod@mlg-lawyers.com

Massachusetts
James B. Lampke
Town Counsel

Contact Information

Hull, Massachusetts
Suite 3
115 North Street
Hingham, MA 02043
Phone: (781) 749-9922
Fax: (781) 749-9923
jlampke@town.hull.ma.us

Michigan
Peter Letzmann
Attorney at Law

Contact Information

4250 Valley Hollow Dr. NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
Phone: (248) 705-9901
Fax: (616) 897-8463
peter@letzmann.com

Minnesota
Corrine A. Heine
City Attorney

Contact Information

City of Minnetonka
146000 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345
Phone: (952) 939-8262
cheine@eminnetonka.com

Mississippi
Kimberly Banks
City Attorney

Contact Information

Canton, Mississippi
226 E. Peace street
Canton, MS 39046
Phone: (601) 859-4331
Fax: (601) 859-4379
cantoncityattorney1@gmail.com

Missouri
Ryan Moehlman
City Counselor

Contact Information

Jefferson City, Missouri
320 E. McCarty Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: (573) 634-6315
Fax: (573) 634-6504
rmoehlman@jeffcitymo.org

Montana
Brent Brooks
City Attorney

Contact Information

Billings, Montana
PO Box 1178
Billings, MT 59103
Phone: (406) 657-8205
Fax: (406) 657-3067
brooksb@ci.billings.mt.us

Nebraska
Paul D. Kratz
City Attorney

Contact Information

Omaha, Nebraska
Omaha/Douglas Civic Center
1819 Farnam Street, #804
Omaha, NE 68183
Phone: (402) 444-5120
Fax: (402) 444-5125
pkratz@ci.omaha.ne.us

Nevada
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

New Hampshire
James Kennedy
City Solicitor

Contact Information

Concord, New Hampshire
41 Green Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 225-8505
Fax: (603) 225-8558
jkennedy@concordnh.gov

New Jersey
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

New Mexico (1)
Jennifer Breakell
City Attorney

Contact Information

Farmington, NM
800 Municipal Drive
Farmington, NM 87401-2663
jbreakell@fmtn.org

New Mexico (2)
J. Alvin Leaphart
County Attorney

Contact Information

Incorporated County of Los Alamos
1000 Central Ave., Ste. 340
Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544
Phone: (505) 662-8020
alvin.leaphart@lacnm.us

New York
Shannon O’Connor
Associate

Contact Information

Goldberg Segalla LLP
5786 Widewaters Parkway
Syracuse, NY 13214
Phone: (315) 427-8096
soconnor@goldbergsegalla.com

North Carolina (1)
Crista Cuccaro
Assistant City Attorney

Contact Information

Durham, North Carolina
101 City Hall
Durham, NC 27701
Phone: (919) 560-4158
Fax: (919) 560-4660
crista.cuccaro@durhamnc.gov

North Carolina (2)
Emanuel McGirt
City Attorney

Contact Information

Greenville, North Carolina
P.O. Box 7207
Greenville, NC 27835-7207
Phone: (252) 329-4426 (13247)
Fax: (252) 329-4626
emcgirt@greenvillenc.gov

North Dakota
Erik R. Johnson
City Attorney

Contact Information

Fargo, North Dakota
505 Broadway
Suite 206
Fargo, ND 58102
ejohnson@lawfargo.com

Ohio
Gregory Hicks
Law Director

Contact Information

Warren, Ohio
391 Mahoning Avenue, N.W.
Warren, OH 44483
Phone: (330) 841-2605
Fax: (330) 841-2676
ghicks@warren.org

Oklahoma
John Dorman
City Attorney

Contact Information

Stillwater, Oklahoma
723 S. Lewis
PO Box 1449
Stillwater, OK 74076
Phone: (405) 742-8205
Fax: (405) 377-6808
jdorman@stillwater.org

Oregon
Sean Brady
City Attorney

Contact Information

Tualatin, OR
18880 S.W. Martinazzi Avenue
Tualatin, OR 97062
Phone: (503) 691-2798
sbrady@ci.tualatin.or.us

Pennsylvania
Joanna Klein
Deputy City Solicitor

Contact Information

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1515 Arch Street, 17th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19102-1595
Phone: (215) 683-5003
Fax: (215) 683-5068
joanna.klein@phila.gov

Rhode Island
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

South Carolina
Bradford T. Cunningham
Municipal Attorney

Contact Information

Lexington, South Carolina
P.O. Box 397
Lexington, SC 29071
Phone: (803) 951-2232
Fax: (803) 358-1567
bcunningham@lexsc.com

South Dakota
Steven J. Britzman
City Attorney

Contact Information

Brookings, South Dakota
319 Fifth Avenue
Brookings, SD 57006
Phone: (605) 697-9058
Fax: (605) 697-9060
britzmanlaw@brookings.net

Tennessee
Laylah Smith
Legal Counsel

Contact Information

Greater Nashville Regional Council
501 Union Street
6th Floor
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone: (615) 880-3519
Fax: (615) 880-3901
lsmith@gnrc.org

Texas
Leah Simon
Senior Associate Attorney

Contact Information

TML – MultiState
1821 Rutherford Lane. Suite 300
Austin, TX 78754
Phone: (512) 719-8349
Fax: (512) 719-6521
Leah.Simon@tmlhb.org

Utah
Christine Petersen
City Attorney

Contact Information

Pleasant Grove, Utah
100 East 70 South
Pleasant Grove, UT 84062
Phone: (801) 785-5045
Fax: (801) 785-8925
cpetersen@pgcity.org

Vermont
Eileen M. Blackwood
City Attorney

Contact Information

Burlington, Vermont
City Hall
149 Church Street, Suite 11
Burlington, VT 05401-8489
eblackwood@burlingtonvt.gov

Virginia
Lesa Yeatts
Town Attorney

Contact Information

Herndon, Virginia
777 Lynn Street
Herndon, VA 20172
Phone: (703) 787-7370
Fax: (703) 435-1034
lesa.yeatts@herndon-va.gov

Washington
Nick Melissinos
Deputy City Attorney

Contact Information

Bellevue, Washington
P.O. Box 90012
450 110th Avenue NE
Bellevue, WA 98009
Phone: (425) 452-2033
Fax: (425) 452-7256
nmelissino@bellevuewa.gov

West Virginia
Ryan Simonston
City Attorney

Contact Information

Morgantown, West Virginia
389 Spruce Street
Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone: (304) 284-7478
Fax: (304) 284-7430
rsimonton@morgantown.wv.gov

Wisconsin
Stephen C. Nick
City Attorney

Contact Information

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
P.O. Box 5148
203 S. Farwell Street
Eau Claire, WI 54702-5148
Phone: (715) 839-6006
Fax: (715) 839-6177
stephen.nick@eauclairewi.gov

Wyoming
Audrey Cohen-Davis
Town Attorney

Contact Information

Town of Jackson
P.O. Box 1687
150 East Pearl Avenue
Jackson, Wyoming 83001
Phone: (307) 733-3932
Fax: (307) 734-7068
acohendavis@ci.jackson.wy.us

Provincial Chairs

Alberta
Brian Loewen

Contact Information

Leduc, Alberta, Canada
1 Alexandra Park
Leduc, AB T9E 4C4
Canada
Phone: (780) 980-7150
Fax: (780) 980-7127
bloewen@leduc.ca

British Columbia
Ian Moore
Lidstone & Company

Contact Information

1300-128 Pender Street West
Vancouver, BC V6B 1R8
Canada
Phone: (604) 899-2269
Fax: (604) 899-2281
moore@lidstone.ca

Manitoba
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

New Brunswick
Nick Robichaud

Contact Information

655 Main Street
Moncton, NB E1C 1E8
Canada
Phone: (506) 853-3541
Fax: (506) 859-2610
nick.robichaud@moncton.ca

Newfoundland and Labrador
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Nova Scotia
John Traves
Halifax Regional Municipality

Contact Information

PO Box 1749
5251 Duke Street, STE 300
Halifax, NS B3J 3A5
Canada
Phone: (902) 490-4232
Fax: (902) 490-4232
travesj@halifax.ca

Ontario
Nancy Shea-Nicol
Reginal Municipality of York

Contact Information

426 Brant Street
Burlington, ON L7R 3Z6
Canada
Phone: (905) 335-7600
Fax: (905) 335-7842
nancy.shea-nicol@burlington.ca

Prince Edward Island
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Quebec
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Saskatchewan
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA