IMLA Regional Vice-Presidents and Chairs

During the Annual Conference, IMLA’s voting members elect a Regional Vice-President for each of the fourteen designated regions of the U.S. and one for Canada. In addition, IMLA’s President appoints a State Chair for each of the fifty states and Provincial Chairs for each of the Canadian Provinces. Each Regional Vice-President, State Chair, and Provincial Chair serves for a one-year term, but may be re-elected or re-appointed to successive terms. Generally, the role of the Regional Vice-President, State Chair and Provincial Chair is to act in an advisory capacity to the Board on matters of policy, programs and membership. The most important functions involve:

  • Identification and referral of cases to the Legal Advocacy Committee through the Executive Director
  • Membership development and retention
  • Helping IMLA gain exposure within a state or region

IMLA is proud to present our Regional Vice-Presidents & State Chairs/Provincial Chairs:

Regional Vice Presidents

1st Circuit
(ME, MA, NH, PR, RI)
Christopher J. Petrini
Town Counsel

Contact Information

Leicester, Massachusetts
Petrini & Associates, P.C.
372 Union Avenue
Farmingham, Massachusetts
Phone: (508) 665-4310
Fax: (508) 665-4313
cpetrini@petrinilaw.com

2nd Circuit
(CT,NY,VT)
Brig Smith
General Counsel

Contact Information

Middletown, Connecticut
245 deKoven Drive
Municipal Building, Room 204
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: (860) 344-3422
Fax: (860) 344-3499
brig.smith@middletownct.gov

3rd Circuit
(DE, NJ, PA, VI)
John C. Gillespie
Township Solicitor

Contact Information

Chesterfield, New Jersey
Parker McCay & Criscuolo
9000 Midatlantic Drive, Ste 300
Mt. Laurel, NJ 08054
Phone: (856) 985-4083
Fax: (856) 596-9631
jgillespie@parkermccay.com

4th Circuit
(MD, NC, SC, VA, WV)
Anthony Fox
City Attorney

Contact Information

Weddington, North Carolina
Three Wachovia Ctr
401 S. Tryon St, Ste 3000
Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone: (704) 372-9000
Fax: (704)334-4706
anthonyfox@parkerpoe.com

5th Circuit
(LA, MS, TX)
VACANT

Contact Information

6th Circuit
(KY,MI,OH,TN)
Philip Hartmann
Law Director

Contact Information

Frost Brown Todd LLC
10 West Broad Street, Suite 2300
Columbus, OH 43215
phartmann@fbtlaw.com

7th Circuit
(IL, IN, WI)
Paul Stephanides
Village Attorney

Contact Information

Oak Park, Illinois
123 Madison Street
Oak Park, IL 60302
Phone: (708) 383-5660
Fax: (708) 383-5661
pstephanides@oak-park.us

8th Circuit (North)
(MN, ND, SD)
Howard D. Swanson
City Attorney

Contact Information

Gilby, North Dakota

P.O. Box 12909
1397 Library Circle, Suite 202
Grand Forks, ND 58208-2909
Phone: (701) 772-3407
Fax: (701) 772-3833
hswanson@swlawltd.com

8th Circuit (South)
(AR, IA, MO, NE)
Thomas M. Carpenter
City Attorney

Contact Information

Little Rock, Arkansas
310 City Hall
500 W. Markham
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: (501) 371-6875
Fax: (501) 371-4675
tcarpenter@littlerock.org

9th Circuit (North)
(AK, ID, MT, OR, WA)
Ann Davison
City Attorney

Contact Information

Seattle, Washington
701 Fifth Avenue
Suite 2050
Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: (206) 684-8229
ann.davison@seattle.gov

9th Circuit (South)
(AZ, CA, HI, NV)
Jeff M. Dorocak
Assistant City Attorney

Contact Information

Las Vegas, Nevada
495 S. Main Street
6th Floor
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Phone: (702) 229-6629
jdorocak@lasvegasnevada.gov

10th Circuit (North)
(CO, UT, WY)
Carrie M. Daggett
City Attorney

Contact Information

Fort Collins, Colorado
300 LaPorte Avenue
P.O. Box 580
Fort Collins, CO 80522
Phone: (970) 416-2463
cdaggett@fcgov.com

10th Circuit (South)
(KS, NM, OK)
Sharon L. Dickgrafe
Chief Deputy City Attorney

Contact Information

Wichita, Kansas
City Hall- 13th Floor
455 North Main Street
Wichita, KS 67202
Phone: (316) 268-4681
Sdickgrafe@wichita.gov

11th Circuit
(AL, FL, GA)
James E. Elliott, Jr.
City Attorney

Contact Information

Warner Robins, Georgia
202 N. Davis Drive
PMB 718
Warner Robins, GA 31093
Phone: (478) 929-1120
Fax: (478) 918-2995
Jim.elliott@butlersnow.com

Canadian Regional Vice President
David Boghosian
Boghosian & Allen, LLP

Contact Information

65 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M5H 2M5
Canada
Phone: (416) 367-5558
Fax: (416) 368-1010
dgb@boglaw.ca

State Chairs

Alabama
Robert Spence, Esq.
Attorney

Contact Information

Rosen Harwood, LLP
2200 Jack Warner Parkway
Suite 200
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Phone: (205) 344-5000 x2415
Fax: (205) 758-8358
rspence@rosenharwood.com

Alaska
Nicholas Spiropoulos
Borough Attorney

Contact Information

Matanuska-Susitna Borough
350 E. Dahlia Avenue
Palmer, AK 99645
Phone: (907) 861-8677
Fax: (907) 861-8559
nspiropoulos@matsugov.us

Arizona
Kelly Schwab
City Attorney/Risk Manager

Contact Information

Chandler, Arizona
P.O. Box 4008, MS 602
Chandler, AZ 85244-4008
Phone: (480) 782-4642
Fax: (480) 782-4652
kelly.schwab@chandleraz.gov

Arkansas
Amy Beckman Fields
City Attorney

Contact Information

North Little Rock, Arkansas
300 Main Street
North Little Rock, AR 72114
Phone: (501) 975-3755
Fax: (501) 340-5341
afields@nlr.ar.gov

California (1)
Timothy Coates
Managing Partner

Contact Information

Greines, Martin, Stein & Richland LLP
5900 Wilshire Boulevard, 12th Floor
San Jose, CA 95113
Phone: (310) 859-7811
Fax: (310) 276-5261
tcoates@gmsr.com

California (2)
 Nora Frimann
City Attorney

Contact Information

San Jose, California
200 East Santa Clara St, 16th Floor
San Jose, CA 95113
Phone: (408) 535-1950
Fax: (408) 998-3131
Nora.Frimann@sanjoseca.gov

Colorado
Carrie M. Daggett
City Attorney

Contact Information

Fort Collins, Colorado
300 Laporte Avenue
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Phone: (970) 416-2463
cdaggett@fcgov.com

Connecticut
Robin Edwards
Assistant Corporation Counsel & President of CAMA

Contact Information

Danbury, CT
155 Deer Hill Avenue
Danbury, CT 06810
Phone: (203) 797-4518
Fax: (203) 796-8043
r.edwards@danbury-ct.gov

Delaware
Michael P. Migliore
County Counsel to Council

Contact Information

800 N. French St., 8th Floor
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: (302) 395-8389
MPMigliore@NCCDE.org

Florida
Jody Litchford
Deputy City Attorney

Contact Information

Orlando, Florida
400 S. Orange Avenue
P.O. Box 4990
Phone: (407) 246-2295
Fax: (407) 246-2854
jody.litchford@cityoforlando.net

Georgia
J. Anderson Davis
City Attorney

Contact Information

Rome, Georgia
P.O. Box 5007, 615 W. 1st Street
Rome, GA 30162
Phone: (706) 291-8853
Fax: (706) 234-3574
adavis@brinson-askew.com

Hawaii
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Idaho
Mia Bautista
City Attorney

Contact Information

Moscow, Idaho
P.O. Box 9203, 206 East 3rd Street
Moscow, ID 83843
Phone: (208) 883-7005
Fax: (208) 883-7018
MBautista@ci.moscow.id.us

Illinois
Brian Day
Corporation Counsel

Contact Information

Normal, Illinois
11 Uptown Circle
PO Box 589
Normal, IL 61761
Phone: (309) 454-9507
bday@normal.org

Indiana
Ashley Ulbricht
of Counsel

Contact Information

Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP
One Indiana Square
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 237-6200
Fax: (317) 713-3699
aulbricht@taftlaw.com

Iowa
Eric Goers
Assistant City Attorney

Contact Information

Iowa City, Iowa
410 E. Washington Street
Iowa City, IA 52240
Phone: (319) 356-5030
Fax: (319) 356-5008
eric-goers@iowa-city.org

Kansas
Amanda Stanley
City Attorney

Contact Information

Topeka, Kansas
215 SE 7th
Room 353
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: (785) 368-3883
Fax: (785) 368-3901
alstanley@topeka.org

Kentucky
M. Keith Horn
Managing Attorney

Contact Information

Lexington-Fayette, Kentucky
200 E. Main Street, 11th Floor
Lexington, KY 40507
Phone: (859) 258-3500
Fax: (859) 258-3538
mhorn@lexingtonky.gov

Louisiana
Karen White
Executive Counsel

Contact Information

Louisiana Municipal Association
700 N. 10th Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: (225) 344-5001
Fax: (225) 336-5277
kwhite@lma.org

Maine
Sally Daggett
Corporation Counsel

Contact Information

South Portland, Maine
P.O. Box 4510
Portland, ME 04112
Phone: (207) 775-7271
Fax: (207) 767-7629
sdaggett@jbgh.com

Maryland
Elissa Levan
Partner

Contact Information

Funk & Bolton PA
100 Light Street
Suite 1400
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: (410) 659-4974
Fax: (410) 659-7773
elevan@fblaw.com

Massachusetts
James B. Lampke
Town Counsel

Contact Information

Hull, Massachusetts
Suite 3
115 North Street
Hingham, MA 02043
Phone: (781) 749-9922
Fax: (781) 749-9923
jlampke@town.hull.ma.us

Michigan
Peter Letzmann
Attorney at Law

Contact Information

4250 Valley Hollow Dr. NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49525
Phone: (248) 705-9901
Fax: (616) 897-8463
peter@letzmann.com

Minnesota
Corrine A. Heine
City Attorney

Contact Information

City of Minnetonka
146000 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345
Phone: (952) 939-8262
cheine@eminnetonka.com

Mississippi
Kimberly Banks
City Attorney

Contact Information

Canton, Mississippi
226 E. Peace street
Canton, MS 39046
Phone: (601) 859-4331
Fax: (601) 859-4379
cantoncityattorney1@gmail.com

Missouri
Ryan Moehlman
City Counselor

Contact Information

Jefferson City, Missouri
320 E. McCarty Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone: (573) 634-6315
Fax: (573) 634-6504
rmoehlman@jeffcitymo.org

Montana
Gina Dahl
City Attorney

Contact Information

Billings, Montana
PO Box 1178
Billings, MT 59103
Phone: (406) 657-8205
Fax: (406) 657-3067
dahlg@billingsmt.gov

Nebraska
Elaine Menzel
Legal Counsel

Contact Information

Nebraska Association of County Officials (NACO)
1335 H Street
Lincoln, NE 68508
Phone: (402) 434-5660
Fax: (402) 434-5473
elaine.menzel@nebraskacounties.org

Nevada
Nicholas Vaskov
City Attorney

Contact Information

Henderson, Nevada
240 S. Water Street
Henderson, NV 89015
Phone: (702) 267-1220
Fax: (702) 267-1201
nicholas.vaskov@cityofhenderson.com

New Hampshire
James Kennedy
City Solicitor

Contact Information

Concord, New Hampshire
41 Green Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 225-8505
Fax: (603) 225-8558
jkennedy@concordnh.gov

New Jersey
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

New Mexico (1)
Jennifer Breakell
City Attorney

Contact Information

Farmington, NM
800 Municipal Drive
Farmington, NM 87401-2663
jbreakell@fmtn.org

New Mexico (2)
J. Alvin Leaphart
County Attorney

Contact Information

Incorporated County of Los Alamos
1000 Central Ave., Ste. 340
Los Alamos, New Mexico 87544
Phone: (505) 662-8020
alvin.leaphart@lacnm.us

New York
Shannon O’Connor
Partner

Contact Information

Vaughan Baio & Partners
201 East Jefferson Street
Suite 200
Syracuse, NY 13202
Phone: (680) 697-8866
soconnor@vaughanbaio.com

North Carolina (1)
Thomas Powers
Senior Assistant City Attorney

Contact Information

Charlotte, North Carolina
City Attorney’s Office, 15th Floor
600 East Fourth Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone: (704) 336-5877
Fax: (704) 632-8340
tpowers@ci.charlotte.nc.us

North Carolina (2)
Martha R. Thompson
Chief Deputy County Attorney

Contact Information

Cleveland County, North Carolina
P.O. Box 1210
Shelby, NC 28151-1210
Phone: (704) 484-4978
martha.thompson@clevelandcountync.gov

North Dakota
Nancy J. Morris
Assistant City Attorney

Contact Information

Fargo, North Dakota
505 Broadway
Suite 206
Fargo, ND 58102
nmorris@lawfargo.com

Ohio
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Oklahoma
Roy Tucker
City Attorney

Contact Information

Muskogee, Oklahoma
P.O. Box 1927
Muskogee, OK 74402
Phone: (918) 684-6276
Fax: (918) 684-6277
rtucker@muskogeeonline.org

Oregon
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Pennsylvania
Joanna Klein
Deputy City Solicitor

Contact Information

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1515 Arch Street, 17th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19102-1595
Phone: (215) 683-5003
Fax: (215) 683-5068
joanna.klein@phila.gov

Rhode Island
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

South Carolina
Bradford T. Cunningham
Municipal Attorney

Contact Information

Lexington, South Carolina
P.O. Box 397
Lexington, SC 29071
Phone: (803) 951-2232
Fax: (803) 358-1567
bcunningham@lexsc.com

South Dakota
Steven J. Britzman
City Attorney

Contact Information

Brookings, South Dakota
319 Fifth Avenue
Brookings, SD 57006
Phone: (605) 697-9058
Fax: (605) 697-9060
britzmanlaw@brookings.net

Tennessee
Laylah Smith
Legal Counsel

Contact Information

University of Tennessee CTAS & MTAS
226 Anne Dallas Dudley Blvd Bldg
Suite 400
Nashville, TN 37219
Phone: (615) 532-3555
Fax: (615) 532-3699
laylah.smith@tennessee.edu

Texas
Leah Simon
Senior Associate Attorney

Contact Information

TML – MultiState
1821 Rutherford Lane. Suite 300
Austin, TX 78754
Phone: (512) 719-8349
Fax: (512) 719-6521
Leah.Simon@tmlhb.org

Utah
Christine Petersen
City Attorney

Contact Information

Pleasant Grove, Utah
100 East 70 South
Pleasant Grove, UT 84062
Phone: (801) 785-5045
Fax: (801) 785-8925
cpetersen@pgcity.org

Vermont
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Virginia
Lesa Yeatts
Town Attorney

Contact Information

Herndon, Virginia
777 Lynn Street
Herndon, VA 20172
Phone: (703) 787-7370
Fax: (703) 435-1034
lesa.yeatts@herndon-va.gov

Washington
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

West Virginia
Ryan Simonston
City Attorney

Contact Information

Morgantown, West Virginia
389 Spruce Street
Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone: (304) 284-7478
Fax: (304) 284-7430
rsimonton@morgantown.wv.gov

Wisconsin
Stephen C. Nick
City Attorney

Contact Information

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
P.O. Box 5148
203 S. Farwell Street
Eau Claire, WI 54702-5148
Phone: (715) 839-6006
Fax: (715) 839-6177
stephen.nick@eauclairewi.gov

Wyoming
Wallace Trembath III
Deputy City Attorney

Contact Information

Casper, Wyoming
200 N. David
Casper, WY 82601
Phone: (307) 235-7504
wtrembath@casperwy.gov

Provincial Chairs

Alberta
Brian Loewen

Contact Information

Leduc, Alberta, Canada
1 Alexandra Park
Leduc, AB T9E 4C4
Canada
Phone: (780) 980-7150
Fax: (780) 980-7127
bloewen@leduc.ca

British Columbia
Andrew Carricato
Lidstone & Company

Contact Information

1300-128 Pender Street West
Vancouver, BC V6B 1R8
Canada
Phone: (604) 899-2269
Fax: (604) 899-2281
carricato@lidstone.ca

Manitoba
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

New Brunswick
Nick Robichaud

Contact Information

655 Main Street
Moncton, NB E1C 1E8
Canada
Phone: (506) 853-3541
Fax: (506) 859-2610
nick.robichaud@moncton.ca

Newfoundland and Labrador
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Nova Scotia
John Traves
Halifax Regional Municipality

Contact Information

PO Box 1749
5251 Duke Street, STE 300
Halifax, NS B3J 3A5
Canada
Phone: (902) 490-4232
Fax: (902) 490-4232
travesj@halifax.ca

Ontario
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Prince Edward Island
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Quebec
VACANT

Contact Information

If Interested, Contact IMLA

Saskatchewan
Cindy Yelland
City of Saskatoon

Contact Information

222 3rd Avenue North
Saskatoon, SK  S7K 0J5
Canada
Phone: (306) 975-3270
cindy.yelland@saskatoon.ca